Democratic Party of Puerto Rico To Consult the DNC on Bernie Sanders' Campaign Suspension

SAN JUAN - In view of the announcement by the aspiring Democratic Party presidential candidate Bernie Sanders to “suspend” his campaign for the presidential nomination, Puerto Rico Democratic Party Chairman Charles Rodriguez will consult with the Democratic National Committee (DNC), on the scope of the Vermont Senator's statement to determine the appropriate course of action under current party regulations.

Rodriguez said that the action of Sanders, who explained that his candidacy is far behind that of former Vice President Joe Biden, encourages the Democratic Party to have the electoral strength and without further distractions, to rescue the Nation and redirect it down the path of progress and social stability.

Rodriguez explained, however, that although Biden appears to be the presumptive presidential candidate, the DNC should advise as to primaries like Puerto Rico's which has yet to take place.  In the face of this fact, the Chairman of the local party stressed the importance of selecting the island's delegates to the Democratic convention next August.

To secure the nomination as the Democratic candidate for President on the first vote at the Convention, the former Vice President would need 1,991 delegates.

Meanwhile, and faced with the extension of the mandatory quarantine decreed by the Puerto Rico government to avoid further spreading of covid-19, Rodríguez also is constant consultation with the President of the State Commission on Elections, Juan E. Davila-Rivera, to select the new alternate date more feasible for the event.

"The size of the Puerto Rico delegation is unquestionable. We need to fine-tune the process of selecting the delegates. In the coming days we hope to have a clear picture with the viable alternative to achieve this purpose," he said.

Puerto Rico's delegation to the Democratic Convention to be held in Milwaukee on August 17 is made up of 58 delegates, a representation greater than that of 30 states or territories of the Nation.